SIPTU members in the Irish Wheelchair Association (IWA) will conduct a 24-hour work stoppage tomorrow (Tuesday, 5th July) following the refusal of the Government to discuss with their union their need for a pay rise for the first time in 14 years. SIPTU Public Administration and Community Division Organiser, Adrian Kane, said: “We have repeatedly called for talks with the Government concerning the funding of the IWA. The organisation is reliant on this funding in order to provide its workers with a first pay rise in 14 years. “Unfortunately, the Government has remained silent in relation to this dispute. It is maintaining the claim that it does not have a role to play in resolving it because it is not directly the employer of these workers. This situation is untenable and stands in stark contrast to the approach of the State prior to 2008 when there was a long standing pay link between workers in the community sector and so-called Section 39 organisations such as the IWA with public sector workers.” He added: “Our members in the IWA will take to picket lines tomorrow in selected locations across the country to highlight their legitimate claim for decent pay for the vital service they provide. We have been inundated with messages of support from service users and the wider public. They understand the importance of this service and the need for pay justice for those who are providing it. “We remain available for talks with the Government on how these workers can get a pay rise for the first time in over a decade. Unfortunately, if the Government will not engage, this dispute will escalate until it does listen to the legitimate demands of these workers.” The one-day work stoppage by IWA workers across the country tomorrow (Tuesday, 5th July) will be followed by a one-day work stoppage by workers in community organisations in counties Waterford and Galway, as well as selected schemes elsewhere in the country on Wednesday (6th July). The action is part of the Valuing Community campaign, which is backed by SIPTU, Fórsa, INMO and ICTU.